Favorite Reads


     Students are currently reading a variety of award-winning books and learning about the history of four medals recognized by the American Library Association.  Featured below are the Newbery, Caldecott, Coretta Scott King and Pure Belpre Medal Winners for 2017. Honor Books from each category are also available for patrons to check out from our library.

           2017 John Newbery Medal Winner                                                               2017 Randolph Caldecott Medal Winner
            Kelly Barnhill                                                                                                           Javaka Steptoe   

     The Girl Who Drank the Moon                                                                                      Radiant Child

                       The award is given to the author of the most                                          This award is given to the artist of the most
                       distinguished contribution to  American                                              distinguished American picture book for children.
                        literature for children.


    2017 Coretta Scott King Winners

                             Author                                                                                             Illustrator
    Congressman John Lewis and Andrew Aydin                                                          Javakta Steptoe

                         March                                                                           Radiant Child

     The medal is awarded to African-American authors and illustrators of books for children that show an appreciation for African- American culture and highlights certain values. (Established, 1987)


                    2017 Pura Belpré Award Winners

                                                        Author                                                                                                          Illustrator
                                                    Juana Medina                                                                                                    Raul Gonzalez

                                                Juana & Lucas                                                                                 Lowriders to the Center of the Earth

    The Pura Belpré Award is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms,
    and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. (Est. 1996)