2017 Athletic Hall of Fame Induction and Reception

  • 2017 Athletic Hall of Fame Induction and Reception

    On Saturday, October 21, 2017, the 3rd Annual Hall of Fame Inductee reception was held to honor this year's hall of fame class.

    Many thanks to volunteers, committee, and partners to make this event happen each year! Congratulations to the Inductee class of 2017!! 


    HOF Room  Presentation  HOF Awards

     Cater  Committee



    2017 Athletic Hall of Fame Inductee Class


    Ethan Pitts (Armstrong & Kennedy) (Football, Baseball athlete – Coach & Principal)
    Harvey Smith (Kennedy) (Track & Field)
    Plummer Bullock (Kennedy) (Football & Basketball)
    Isiah Seal (Armstrong) (Basketball, Baseball, Football)
    Alex Moses (Armstrong) (Basketball)

    George Wythe

    Frank Butts (Contributor)
    Dr. Sally Duerr (Field Hockey & Tennis)
    Kenneth Foster (Track and Field)
    Valerie Perkins (Community Contributor)


    Johnna Jackson (Girls’ Basketball)
    Darlene Chaney (Girls’ Basketball) Posthumous
    Keith Young (Track) 
    Anthony Coles (Football)  
    Marcus McFee (Football)

    John Marshall

    Barney Cobb (Track and Field)
    Wayne Turnage (Baseball and Football)
    Sylvia Seaborne (Basketball)
    Jason Williford (Basketball)
    Wade "Bill" Chambers (Basketball Baseball, and Coach)

    Thomas Jefferson

    George Borden (Athletic Training)
    Phillip Logan (Football and Track & Field)
    Lamont R. Clayton (Football)
    Russell Flammia (Teach)
    Stuart K. Elliott (Football)
    James T. Johnson (Basketball Coach)

    Maggie Walker

    Mr. James Edward Segear (Principal)
    Mr. Pierce Callaham, Sr. (Coach)
    Mr. Joseph Kennedy Jr. (Contributor - Band Director)
    Mr. Fred “Cannonball” Cooper (Coach)   
    Mr. Arthur “Stretch” Gardner (Coach)
    Ms. Marisha McCollum (Basketball & Track)
    Mr. Jeffrey Washington (Football, Wrestling & Track)

    1967-68 MAGGIE WALKER MEN’S BASKETBALL State Championship team