Huguenot High School was built during the 1959-60 school year and opened on September 6, 1960. It was named for several hundred French Protestants who fled to Virginia from France. They settled about twenty miles above the falls of the James River, and with the growth in Virginia became absorbed into the Virginia way of life. Included in the several monuments and memorials in the area attributed to the Huguenots is the Huguenot Memorial Bridge built in 1949.Huguenot, originally a Chesterfield County school, became a part of Richmond Public Schools in 1970.
In 1979, Huguenot High School became the Huguenot building within the Jefferson-Huguenot-Wythe High School. Jefferson-Huguenot-Wythe was created by Richmond Public Schools because of declining enrollment and the continued loss of revenue for education. It resulted in combining Thomas Jefferson, Huguenot, and George Wythe into one unique school. This change was implemented to reduce expenses and to create a learning environment which would meet the needs of all students.
In August, 1986, the Huguenot building was returned to the status of Huguenot High School and operated as a separate school. Huguenot is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and by the Virginia State Department of Education. It is also a member of the Virginia High School League.