Skip To Main Content

Our Schools



Richmond Public Schools is excited to announce the nomination process for our 2023 division awards, to be celebrated at the May 23rd RPS Shines event.

RPS will be recognizing the incredible staff across our division that uplift and serve our students and community with love. In addition to recognizing our 2022-2023 Teachers of the Year , we will be celebrating our staff with the following additional awards:

The Lucille Brown Impact Award - This award will recognize RPS teachers, staff, and administrators who have made significant impacts over the course of their career in the achievement and well-being of RPS students.

The Rodney A. Robinson Equity in Education Award - This award will recognize RPS teachers, staff, and administrators who have made significant contributions to the important work of promoting equity in education for all RPS students. 

The 2023 Principal of the Year Award - This award recognizes principals who go well above their day-to-day demands to create an exceptional educational environment for our students.

RPS will also be recognizing a Support Staff of the Year via a separate nomination process.

Anyone may nominate individuals to receive these awards using this form. Nominations are due by 11:59pm on Friday April 14th, 2023. Winners will be notified on May 1st, 2023.

2023 Division Teacher of the Year

Christal Corey

Franklin Military

A fourth-generation teacher, Christal began her RPS career in 2014 at Boushall MS. She's taught general science, life science, physical science, computer science, and civics. Part of Christal's mission as a teacher is to inspire other young Black women to become scientists and science educators. She also believes in developing multi-generational relationships of trust with her students and their families. To do so, she attends basketball games and cheer competitions, tutors former students, looks over IEPs for parents, and so much more. Thank you, Christal, for making Richmond Public Schools your home, and for sharing your abundant talents with the Cadets at Franklin. You're an inspiration to us all!


RPS Shines, November 4, 2022

Division Teachers of the Year

Rahmah Johnson

2020, Thomas Jefferson High School

Ashley Bland

2021. John B. Cary Elementary School

Kiara Thompson

2022, Thomas C. Boushall Middle School

We honored the 2020, 2021 and 2022 School and Division Teachers of the Year:

Watch Video

Angela Jones holding Lucille Brown Impact Award Trophy on stage at RPS Shines

The Lucille M. Brown Impact Award

Angela Jones

Director of Culture, Climate, and Student Services

Ms. Jones received the Lucille M. Brown Impact Award for her unparalleled contributions to the well-being of our students over the past 27 years. Learn more about the impact Angela continues to make every day:

Watch Video

Judy Deichman accepting the equity award on stage at RPS Shines

The Rodney A. Robinson Equity in Education Award

Judy Deichman

Instructional Specialist, Library Media Services

Ms. Deichman received the Rodney A. Robinson Equity in Education Award for her work cultivating a love for reading across RPS. Get a glimpse into Judy’s role and the passion she exudes for all things books:

Watch Video

School Teachers of the Year

2022 TOYs  2021 TOYs  2020 TOYs 

student emcee and support staff of the year award winner accepting award at RPS Shines 2022

The 2022 Support Staff of the Year Award

Tyrelle Williamson

Head Custodian, Miles J. Jones Elementary School

Mr. Williamson received the Support Staff of the Year Award for always going above and beyond to care for his building – and more importantly, for the students and staff who call it home. We're so grateful to Mr. Williamson and the hundreds of support staff he represents!

2022 Support Staff of the Year

latonya waller accepting the principal of the year award at RPS Shines

The 2022 Principal of the Year Award

Latonya Waller

Principal, Thomas C. Boushall Middle School

Principal Waller received the Principal of the Year Award for her exemplary leadership throughout the pandemic and for posting some of the largest post-pandemic gains in literacy in math in all of RPS. Principal Waller is also a former Virginia Teacher of the Year.