Skip To Main Content

Our Schools


Who's My Legislator?

Find Your Representatives

The first step to advocacy is finding out who represents you! Citizens are represented by elected officials at all levels of government. In Richmond, these officials include:

  • Local - Mayor, City Council, School Board Member
  • State - Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, Senator, Delegate
  • Federal - President, Vice President, Senators (2), and Representative

Once you know who represents you in these positions, you can then start advocating! The best place to start is using the Who's My Legislator? tool on the Virginia General Assembly's website.

This website will give you the opportunity to:

  • Learn their full name, length of time in office, and full-time profession
  • Learn about the demographics of the district and their voting records, committee assignments, and areas of interest
  • Look at the bills they have introduced in the past few years; if you find something that interests you, prepare some questions to find out more
  • Develop some questions you can ask to gauge his or her knowledge of and interest in your particular issue

Think about how you prefer to communicate - there is an option for everyone! After identifying your representatives you can write to them (email or traditional mail), call their office, or schedule a meeting with them (virtual or in-person). You can also follow them on social media such as Twitter, Facebook and Instagram for updates and other opportunities to engage.