• Note: Much of the history of the Richmond Public Schools was recorded in the context of a segregated society, and the reader should readily discern between pre- and post-desegregation observations. The terms "black," "colored," "Negro," and "white" in this booklet should not be considered offensive as they have been used according to the custom of the particular period. Since 1962, the division has omitted such racial designations from its reports and publications.

East End (Junior High) Middle School

  • 701 North 37th Street
    (37th Street between "M" & "N" Streets)

    East End is a three-story school named for the section of the city in which it is located. The annual report for 1929-30 includes several pictures of the "handsome" building; it was considered. at the time to be the most adequately equipped and artistic junior high school in the state.

    East End opened in September 1929, with pupils (grades 7-9) transferred from Bellevue Junior High School at 24th & Grace Streets. The following session, the building was filled to capacity. Elementary grades transferred from Nathaniel Bacon School, October 1, 1958, were also housed at East End.

    The school was closed in June 1959, and its pupils transferred to Robert Fulton, Highland Park, Chandler, and John Marshall. East End reopened in September 1959 as a Negro junior high school with grades 7-8. After a 1964 fire, extensive mechanical/masonry/carpentry work was required to restore the building. During the period 1970-88, the Bacon Building was used as an annex of East End; from 1970-73, old Chimborazo was also an East End annex.

    East End Middle School was closed June 1991, when its program was merged with Mosby Middle School. In May 1992, City Council authorized the expenditure of $3 million from the Richmond Metropolitan Authority Reserve Account to renovate the East End Building for school use.


    1929-1930 - 1,021
    June 1959 - 252
    1959-1960 - 816
    1900-1991 - 575 (final)

    Charles M. Robinson


    1929-1942 Algar Woolfolk
    1942-1956 Crawford Curry Crouch
    1956-1959 Oscar Willard Fary, Jr.
    1959-1966 Fred Stewart Swann
    1966-1977 Charles Thomas Spurlock
    1977-1982 John Charles Lane
    1982-1985 Kenneth Michael Geiger (Acting 1982-83)
    1985-1988 Lyman Eugene Lloyd, Jr.
    1988-1991 William H. Joyner