• Note: Much of the history of the Richmond Public Schools was recorded in the context of a segregated society, and the reader should readily discern between pre- and post-desegregation observations. The terms "black," "colored," "Negro," and "white" in this booklet should not be considered offensive as they have been used according to the custom of the particular period. Since 1962, the division has omitted such racial designations from its reports and publications.

Kennedy (John F.) High School for Technology

  • 2300 Cool Lane

    A track and field layout was constructed in 1969; alterations and additions in 1982 provided improvements for the handicapped; a concession building was constructed in 1988.

    While the 18-1/2 acre site of this school is completely in Henrico County, it is considered contiguous with the city line because it abuts the Fairfield Court School property which was acquired first and is contiguous with the city line (although mostly in Henrico County). This creates an unusual law enforcement situation: Henrico County has jurisdiction outside the building, while the City has jurisdiction inside the building.

    Under"Plan G" (1979), Armstrong-Kennedy comprised one of three high school complexes with a coordinating principal (Fred Cooper in1979-80 and Joe louis Simmons, 1980-86). " Plan G" was dismantled in 1986, with the return to a system implemented in 1990, Kennedy adopted the "mathematics, science and technology" theme.

    As of 2004, John F. Kennedy has been combined with Armstrong High School and renamed New Armstrong. The John F. Kennedy building has become the new home of Armstrong High School since September 2004 with Carl Vaughan as the principal.

    Sept. 1968 1,158

    Ballou & Justice
    1988 Dayton & Thompson

    Contract Cost:
    1982 195,351
    1988 277,286

    1968-1970 Arnold R. Henderson, Jr.
    1970-1977 George L. Jones
    1977-1979 Herman Leonard Carter, Jr.
    1979-1992 Sandra R. Parker (Acting 1979-80)
    1992-1998 Ethan Pitts
    1998-2003 Frank Butts
    2003-2004 Thomas Whittle