Note: Much of the history of the Richmond Public Schools was recorded in the context of a segregated society, and the reader should readily discern between pre- and post-desegregation observations. The terms "black," "colored," "Negro," and "white" in this booklet should not be considered offensive as they have been used according to the custom of the particular period. Since 1962, the division has omitted such racial designations from its reports and publications.
Stuart (J.E.B) School
3101 Fendall Avenue (Corner of Fendall Avenue & Crawford Street)
This school was named for the renowned Confederate cavalry leader, General James Ewell Brown Stuart. The cornerstone was laid on October 8, 1921, with Masonic ceremonies. Stuart School opened in September 1922, to provide for the growing North Side community.
The 1922-23 annual report includes picture and floor plan of Stuart by School Architect Charles M. Robinson; a unique feature of the school is the semi-circular building which houses the auditorium above the cafeteria. It was considered "entirely new in school house planning"; sufficient basement was provided to hold only the heating apparatus and toilets, everything else being above ground. Additional playground space was purchased in 1923-24. An eight-room addition was erected in 1928.
The enrollment trend was reversed in the 1950s, and Stuart was able to absorb pupils from the neighboring George Thorpe School when it was converted into a Negro school (Norrell). Under Plan III, Stuart was paired with Ginter Park. In1989-90, the program was housed in the Chandler Building while Stuart was being air-conditioned and undergoing renovations to the media center and office area.
Charles M. Robinson
1989 Freeman & Morgan
1928 Addition 48,129
1922-1926 Jack Marye Davis
1926-1946 Leslie Eley Bush
1946-1960 Helen Cabell Phillips
1960-1961 Elmer Hunter Gish
1961-1962 Mary Strange Jones
1962-1967 Elmer Hunter Gish
1967-1974 Mary Ellen J. Garber
1974 Mildred D. (Woodruff) Bruce