Return to Headlines

New Richmond City School Board takes office

Richmond Public Schools' new School Board members were sworn in Tuesday, January 3, during a special ceremony held in the School Board Conference Room, located on the 17th floor of City Hall. 

Board members and their respective districts include: 

1st District – The Honorable Elizabeth Doerr
2nd District – The Honorable James “Scott” Barlow
3rd District – The Honorable Jeffrey Bourne
4th District – The Honorable Jonathan Young
5th District – The Honorable Patrick Sapini
6th District – The Honorable Felicia Cosby
7th District – The Honorable Nadine Marsh-Carter
8th District – The Honorable Dawn Page
9th District – The Honorable Linda Owen 

The new Richmond City School Board is comprised of seven members who are new to the district’s governing educational body. Both Bourne and Page have previously served as School Board representatives. 

Following the swearing-in ceremony, the board held its first meeting and elected Mrs. Dawn Page to serve as board chair, while Dr. Patrick Sapini will serve as the vice chair.

Among the most immediate priorities of the board will be finalizing the district’s FY18 budget. For the latest information regarding School Board public hearings and work sessions, visit BoardDocs.